Oregon Teacher of the Year

Giving back to outstanding educators

Since 2016, the Oregon Lottery has proudly sponsored Teacher of the Year to reward our state’s amazing teachers, who dedicate their lives to inspiring students every day.

Rosa Floyd 2023 Oregon Teacher of the Year

Recognizing Amazing Teachers since 1955

In 1955, Oregon honored Margaret (Perry) Teufel of Monmouth Elementary School as its first Teacher of the Year. 1955 was an exciting year for Margaret and for Oregon as she was also awarded the National Teacher of the Year. Twice more, an Oregon educator received our nation’s highest honor – 1973 with John Ensworth of Kenwood Elementary in Bend and 2008 with Mike Geisen of Crook County Middle School in Prineville.

2023 Teacher of the Year

Meet Rosa Floyd

2023’s winner, Rosa Floyd of Nellie Muir Elementary in Woodburn is an inspiration. Rosa’s impact is immeasurable in her community, rippling beyond her beloved students and the walls of her classroom. In addition to helping her students realize the best versions of themselves, she has also assisted in the development of a district preschool program, started an English-language education program for parents and is the founder of a popular Mexican folkloric dance group made up of students, school staff and families. It can’t be said enough, Oregon’s Teacher of the Year is a special honor for the remarkable educators who are ensuring a brighter future for our state.

Is there a teacher making a big difference in your community?

Nominate them for Teacher of the Year! It’s as easy as filling out a form on the Teacher of the Year website with some details about what makes them exceptional.

Nominate a Teacher

A Brief History of Teacher of the Year

The United States established the Teacher of the Year program as a way to nationally recognize outstanding educators.

Oregon began its participation in Teacher of the Year and first honored Margaret Perry, who went on to win the national title that year.

John A. Ensworth, a sixth grade teacher from Bend, became Oregon’s second teacher to win the national title.

Michael Geisen, a middle school science teacher from Prineville, became Oregon’s third teacher to win the national title.

The Oregon Lottery sponsored Oregon’s Teacher of the Year program and opened the door to rewarding winners with cash gifts and school funding.

Oregon’s Teacher of the Year program expanded to recognize 19 regional winners, Each regional winner receives $1,000 and is considered for the state title.

Meet Some of Oregon’s Teacher of the Year Winners

Oregon’s Teacher of the Year 2023

Ethelyn Talamud, Oregon 2022 Teacher of the Year

Oregon’s Teacher of the Year 2022

Nicole Bulter-Hooton

Oregon’s Teacher of the Year 2021

Mercedes Munoz

Oregon’s Teacher of the Year 2020

Monmouth Elementary School sign

Monmouth Elementary School